Acknowledgements

A book covering such a wide range of topics becomes possible only with the help of several persons and organizations. The list of persons who contributed in this project in one way or other is given below:

Mark J Anderson and Hank P Anderson, Mari Sako, Arthur M Schneiderman, Venu Srinivasan, D V Ramachandran, Donald A Deinero, David A Reo, Venkatesh J, Eric Ronney, Steve Lampa and Glenn H Mazur, S Ravikumar, A H Selukar and Rijive Bansal, Paul Harmon, Howard Rohn, H J Bajaria, G Dennis Beecroft, Shane White and John Pheby, Stephen Witherden, Vadim Kotelnikov, Masaaki Imai, Abraham H Maslow, Frederick Herzbery, Leavitt Paige, Tim Washington, Selvam Ponnusamy, Jack Roberts, Juran, Don Sayre, Marilyn R Block, Peter Hughes, Joseph R Jablonski, Jennifer Zook, D H Stigmatism, Steve Ungvari, Peter Mears and Frank Voehl, Margret Skerzynski, and M B Athreya.

I am also grateful my colleagues at ETDC and CFR, Chennai as well as to the organizations such as Mercedes-Benz; Frontier Electronic Systems—Stillwater, UK; Bourton Group, UK; AT&T, Canada; DuPont; Ford Motor Company, Electronic Power Supply; MRC Bearings' TPM Journey; Indian Petrochemicals Corporation Limited; and Tata International—The Leather & Leather Products Division.

The quality gurus, who have been quoted extensively in the book, deserve special thanks. Last, but not the least, the Reviewers who provided valuable suggestions for the overall improvement of the manuscript and the editorial and production teams of Tata McGraw-Hill, also deserve special thanks. If any contributor's name is missing, it may be pardoned as an oversight.

Note: The views and opinions expressed in the book are that of the author in his personal capacity and NOT necessarily of the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology / STQC Directorate / ETDC, Chennai.

SUBBURAL RAMASAMY