

## **Reviewers and Acknowledgments**

## Reviewers of the third edition

We would like to express our sincere appreciation to all those individuals who have made comments and suggestions on the third edition of this book.

Dr Peter Beech, Deakin University Professor David Blair, James Cook University Dr Margi Bohm, University of Canberra Dr Paul Broady, University of Canterbury Associate Professor Michael Calver, Murdoch University

Associate Professor Max Cake, University of Western Australia

Dr Alison Campbell, University of Waikato Associate Professor Rob Close, University of Western Sydney

Dr Chris Collet, Queensland University of Technology

Associate Professor Christopher Daniels, University of Adelaide

Dr Mary Familari, University of Melbourne Dr Rob Fletcher, University of Queensland

Dr Maria Gibson, Deakin University

Dr David Greenwood, Victoria University

Dr Kirsten Heimann, James Cook University Professor Roger Kitching, Griffith University

Dr Phillip Ladd, Murdoch University

Dr Janet Lanyon, University of Queensland

Dr Kristina Lemson, Edith Cowan University

Dr Alan Lymbery, Murdoch University Associate Professor David Macey, Murdoch

Dr Geoff MacFarlane, University of Newcastle

Dr Peter McGee, University of Sydney

Dr Eileen McLaughlin, University of Newcastle

Dr Michael Patterson, La Trobe University

Dr Marcello Pennachio, Curtin University

Dr Peter Pridmore, La Trobe University

Dr Gerry Rayner, Monash University

Dr Pauline Ross, University of Western Sydney

Ms Megan Short, Deakin University

Dr Fleur Tiver, University of South Australia Professor Mark Walker, University of

Wollongong

Dr Alister Ward, Deakin University

Dr Grahame Wigmore, Flinders University

Dr Sabine Wilkens, La Trobe University

Dr Melanie Ziman, Edith Cowan University

## Reviewers of the second edition

We would also like to thank those reviewers who provided feedback on the first and second editions of this book.

Dr Paul Broady, University of Canterbury Associate Professor Kenneth Brown, University of Technology, Sydney

Dr David Burritt, University of Otago Associate Professor Max Cake, University of Western Australia

Dr Mike Calver, Murdoch University Dr David Christophel, University of

Adelaide Associate Professor Bernie Dell, Murdoch University

Dr Ashley Garrill, University of Canterbury Dr Paul Guy, University of Otago

Ms Julie Harris-Wetherbee, University of Melbourne

Dr Sue Jones, University of Tasmania Associate Professor David Macey, Murdoch University

Dr Peter McGee, University of Sydney Ms Sheri McGrath, University of Melbourne

Dr Ben Oldroyd, University of Sydney

Dr Robert Poulin, University of Otago Ms Alex Pulkownik, University of

Technology, Sydney

Associate Professor Robert Reid, University of Adelaide

Ms Racheline Rogers, University of Adelaide

Dr Ken Sanderson, Flinders University

Dr Kathryn Schuller, Flinders University

Dr Clyde Smith, University of Auckland

Dr Trevor Stevenson, Royal Melbourne

Institute of Technology University

Dr Fleur Tiver, University of South Australia

Ms Velta Vingelis, University of Adelaide Dr Graham Wallis, University of Otago

Mr Rob Wass, University of Otago

Dr Helen Wood, Charles Sturt University

## Reviewers of the first edition

Dr Jim Akers, University of Southern Queensland

Dr Elizabeth Alexander, Curtin University

Dr Michael Augee, University of New South Wales

Br Robert Ballantyne, Charles Sturt University

Dr Bob Bennett, Murdoch University

Ian Bennett, Edith Cowan University

Dr Stuart Bradley, Murdoch University

Professor Don Bradshaw, University of

Western Australia

Dr Neil Brink, Flinders University

Dr Max Cake, Murdoch University

Dr Jim Campbell, University of Wollongong

Dr Geraldine Chapman, University of Sydney

Dr Andrew Collins, University of New South Wales

Dr Ron Crowden, University of Tasmania

Dr John Dearn, University of Canberra

Dr Janet Gorst, University of Tasmania

Dr David Happold, Australian National University

Dr A. Chris Hayward, University of Queensland

Dr Chris Hill, James Cook University

Dr Sidney James, University of Western Australia

Dr Jacob John, Curtin University

Dr Michael Johnson, University of Western Australia

Dr Graham Kelly, Queensland University of Technology

Dr Kim Kohen, Macquarie University Associate Professor William Loneragan, University of Western Australia Dr Hamish McCallum, University of Queensland

Dr Peter McGee, University of Sydney

Dr David Morrison, University of Technology, Sydney

Dr Ray Murdoch, University of Newcastle

Dr Mary Peat, University of Sydney

Professor Hugh Possingham, University of South Australia

Associate Professor Nallamilli Prakash, University of New England

Dr Rob Rippingale, Curtin University

Dr Liz Smith, Macquarie University

Associate Professor Ted Steele, University of Wollongong

Dr Robert Vickery, University of New South Wales

Dr Helen Wood, Charles Sturt University

We also thank the following lecturers who offered valuable comments and suggestions via focus groups and meetings that have been an invaluable contribution to the design, content and pedagogy of our third edition: Dr Simon Hudson, University of Sydney; Professor David Patterson, University of Sydney; Dr Charlotte Taylor, University of Sydney; Ms Dawn Gleeson, University of Melbourne and Dr David Raftos, Macquarie University.

The editors acknowledge their friend and colleague the late Professor Bruce Knox for his role in the first edition. We also remember Professor Russell Baudinette, an internationally recognised and productive researcher, who ignited ideas with his infectious enthusiasm, until his death in early 2004. Many, including several of the authors of this book, will remain guided by his philosophy and influenced by his passion for comparative physiology. We thank Consultant Reviewer Mr Ed Myer, Queensland University of Technology, and the many colleagues who gave constructive feedback and provided new information and photographs. We are very grateful to the efforts of all of our authors who participated in the preparation of this book. They have maintained great enthusiasm for the idea of an 'Australian' text, many of them over three editions spanning the last 15 years.

We are most grateful to McGraw-Hill Australia for their support in bringing this project to fruition. We particularly wish to thank Director of Editorial Michael Tully, Developmental Editor Nicola Hartley and Senior Editor Katrina O'Brien for their support and encouragement. We also thank Leanne Peters for overseeing artwork, Tricia McCallum for an imaginative and striking design, copy editors Carolyn Pike and Nicole McKenzie, and Publishing Services Manager Jo Munnelly and her staff. Not least, we acknowledge the support of our families for their encouragement and patience during the many hours of writing and editing.

Professor Pauline Ladiges Professor Barbara Evans Professor Robert Saint