



CRAIG DEEGAN, BCom (University of NSW), MCom (Hons) (University of NSW), PhD (University of Queensland), FCA, is Professor of Accounting and Director of Research in the School of Accounting & Law at RMIT University in Melbourne. Craig has taught at both undergraduate and postgraduate level in Australia for more than two decades and has presented lectures internationally, including in the United States, France, England, Wales, Scotland, New Zealand, Malaysia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Hong Kong and China.

Prior to working within the university sector, Craig worked as a chartered accountant in practice. Craig's research focuses on various social and environmental accountability and financial accounting issues and has been published in a number of leading international accounting journals, including *Accounting*, *Organizations and Society*; *Accounting and Business Research*; *Accounting*, *Accountability and Auditing Journal*; *Accounting and Finance*; *British Accounting Review*; and *The International Journal of Accounting*.

Craig regularly provides consulting services to corporations, government and industry bodies on issues pertaining to financial accounting and corporate social and environmental accountability. Between 1997 and 2003 he was Chairperson of the Triple Bottom Line Issues Group of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia. He has been the recipient of various teaching and research awards, including teaching prizes sponsored by KPMG, and the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia. In July 1998, he was the recipient of the Peter Brownell Manuscript Award, an annual research award presented by the Accounting and Finance Association of Australia and New Zealand. In 1998 he was also awarded the University of Southern Queensland Individual Award for Research Excellence.

Craig is also the author of the leading financial accounting theory textbook, *Financial Accounting Theory*, which is widely used throughout Australia as well as a number of other countries such as the UK, US, The Netherlands and South Korea.